Youth   Parents/Adult Leaders   Scout Units   Diocesan CCS   National CCS   Contact Us   
 Join NCCS
 Contact Us
 Order Forms and Literature
 About Us
 Religious Emblems
 Religious Activities
 College Scholarship
 St. George Trek
Parents/Adult Leaders
 Adult Recognition
 College Scholarship
 National Catholic Leadership Development
 Scouting in the Catholic Church
Scout Units
 Catholic Quality Unit Award - Pope Paul VI
 Duty to God
 Gold Medallion
 Good Turn Project
 Priesthood Sunday
 Scout Sunday
 Serra Venturing
 World Youth Day
Diocesan CCS
 Job Descriptions
National CCS
 Chairman's Corner
 Chaplain's Corner
 International Catholic Conference of Scouting
 Knights Supporting Scouting
 Standing Committees
 Frequently Asked Questions

Youth Programs

Religious Emblems

There are 4 Religious Emblem programs available for scouts to earn. Two that can be earned by Cub Scouts, two that can be earned by Boy Scouts, and one that can be earned by Boy Scouts and Venturing crew members. By completing any of the Religious Emblems, the scout is also entitled to wear the BSA Religious Knot.

Scouts are encourage to earn all 4 emblems while they are on their Scouting and faith journeys.

  • The Light is Life emblem designed for Boy Scouts, 12 -13 years old in the Eastern Catholic Church. The Scouts in the Eastern Catholic Church will work on Light is Life in place of the Ad Altare Dei emblem.
Religious Activities

There are 5 Religious Activity Series programs available for scouts to earn. The Rosary Series has 5 activities that teach the youth about the Rosary. The Marian Series has 5 activities that examines five of the nineteen Marian Feasts commemorated in the United States. The Footsteps of American Saints has 20 activities about individual who shaped the landscape of Catholism in the United States. There is the Footsteps of the Modern Saint Series that will be published later this year. The International Catholic Awareness program opens the youths' eyes to Catholism in other countries and cultures.

These activities are great for unit meetings, youth groups, families or to be worked on individually. Each activity comes with a colorful patch. The International Catholic Awareness program has an additional pin for the Cub Scouts and a Medallion for older scouts, and adults.

College Scholarship

The National Catholic Committee on Scouting® has established the Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout Scholarship to be awarded to five outstanding Catholic high school seniors who are Scouts in a BSA program and continuing their education in college. The requirements are listed in the Eligibility Requirements section on this page. Applications are due to the NCCS office by March 1 of each year.

St. George Trek

The National Catholic Committee on Scouting is pleased to announce its high adventure leadership program for older Catholic Boy Scouts and Venture Crew members at Philmont Scout Ranch. Designed to develop organizational and relational skills for leadership as well as nourishing the scout's spirituality, the program will bring Catholic high school youth from around the country together with selected priests, religious and seminarians for eleven days of backpacking on the trail including three days of intensive leadership training at a back country base camp.